Migrating Hive Tables to Iceberg - A Hands-on Walkthrough

Live Webinar | June 13th | 10am PT / 1pm ET / 5pm GMT

Join us for an in-depth technical webinar where Roy Hasson, VP of Product, will walk you through the key strategies and considerations for migrating Hive tables to Iceberg. 

More and more companies are adopting Apache Iceberg as the next evolution of their data lakes. They choose Iceberg for its improved performance, cost savings, and schema and partition flexibility, which significantly enhance data consistency and operational efficiency in large-scale data lakes. 

However, over the years companies built data lakes using Apache Hive table structure storing PBs of data in Amazon S3, comprising millions of files. To move and rebuild these data lakes using Iceberg would take a tremendous amount of time and money. But don’t worry, Iceberg has a couple aces up its sleeve that can help you.

What You’ll Learn:

  • Migration Strategies: Learn the differences between in-place migration, which adds Iceberg metadata to existing files, and full migration, which involves a complete data transfer.
  • Simplifying In-Place Migrations: Discover how to utilize the Iceberg migrate procedure for adding data files to Iceberg tables, streamlining the process without rewriting your data.
  • Performing DML and optimizations: Understand how DML operations and optimizations like compaction are handled with migrated tables and what you can do to get the most benefit from your new Iceberg tables.

 

About the presenter
Roy Hasson, in his role as VP of Product, contributes extensive knowledge from his previous position as a product manager for AWS Glue and AWS Lake Formation

Roy Hasson
VP Product

Save Your Spot

Templates

All Templates

Explore our expert-made templates & start with the right one for you.